Welcome
News:
Are You a newbie? Check out the video on
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
how to install plugins
in the
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
Guides
forum!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: playon working with the roku  (Read 20911 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
y0himba
Super User
Full Member
***

Times Thanked: 6
Posts: 116


105611 yohimba@zoominternet.net y0himba y0himba
WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2010, 07:18:38 PM »

It appears the PlayOn channels have been removed from the Roku:


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33348&p=211492#p211492


Re: Playon for Roku Feedback

New post by RokuPatrick Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:45 pm
Hi everyone,

While we understand that many of you are excited about a PlayOn-compatible Channel and may be using it, it unfortunately presents the possibility of legal exposure for us. As a result, the current PlayOn channels have been removed and are no longer available to add to your Roku player.

Patrick
Logged

Heavily Modified Dell Inspiron 530
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4GB DDR 800
15MB Cable
2TB HDD Raid 0
DLink DIR-655 108.11n
nVidia GeForce GTS 250
2 Roku boxes, PS3, PVR, 3 desktops, 2 laptops and a Kindle.
And a Partridge in a pear treeeee....
sptuck
Guest
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2010, 03:07:34 AM »

Bummer. I was going to buy one of these too. Sad
Logged
y0himba
Super User
Full Member
***

Times Thanked: 6
Posts: 116


105611 yohimba@zoominternet.net y0himba y0himba
WWW
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2010, 04:35:18 AM »

You should go ahead and buy the Roku.  It has just as much content DLNA is in the works, and Hulu Plus is is coming before the end of the year. I have 2 of them, and they are probably among the best investments I have ever made.
Logged

Heavily Modified Dell Inspiron 530
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4GB DDR 800
15MB Cable
2TB HDD Raid 0
DLink DIR-655 108.11n
nVidia GeForce GTS 250
2 Roku boxes, PS3, PVR, 3 desktops, 2 laptops and a Kindle.
And a Partridge in a pear treeeee....
JamesMMurphy
Super User
Hero Member
***

Times Thanked: 12
Posts: 513


Murph


WWW Email
« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2010, 05:04:32 AM »

So when do we see One for VuNow?
Murph


    Hi, I'm the developer of this Roku Channel and I just wanted to let you know I just updated the channel.  The Roku forum thread has been updated, but I figured I'd post the changes here too:


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login

NOTE that you should now use the vanity url above to install the channel.   I"m not 100% sure, but you may need to remove the existing channel from your box manually and install from the new url above.  Please let me know if your channel is automatically updated.  I know this is a pain, and I apologize, but I was unaware with how the other codes can change with Roku's publishing system.  The vanity code will remain constant.

I have published the new version with the following features:
  • Settings/Config screen[list
    • Allow iphone/ipad (low/high bitrate) stream selection: This appears to work and "should" produce less load on some machines.
    • Allow deletion of cached PlayOn IP address:  This will automatically initiate the server search again.   Useful if your PlayOn Computer switches IPs
  • Catch empty xml error (aka ESPN3 Live Bug)
  • "Loading..." message while loading XML
  • Default folder icons
  • Error/existence checking for field display (aka CBS NCIS error)
  • General Cleanup of some of the code:  It should be a bit more robust
[/list]
Logged

OS: Windows 7 Home Pro (64bit)
Connection: Wired 27.01Mbps UpLoad 0.93
DLNA Devices: VuNow Pod
ISP: Road Runner Cable

[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
-------------------------------------------------
Go To:
[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
sptuck
Guest
« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2010, 07:40:52 PM »

Well. I researched it. Seems that Roku is completely and utterly fixated with blocking PlayOn at all costs. This is a no go and never will be. Forget it folks. Find a different device. Many, many better ones out there than Roku. Don't waste your time with it. Time to move on...
Logged
sptuck
Guest
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2010, 05:02:57 AM »

@bneville,
I have experimented with the Kylo HTPC browser. IMO it blows boxee out of the water. Browser masking works really well for HULU and Fancast. The zoom feature is nice. On screen keyboard with a bluetooth mouse works great. If you're setting up an HTPC, Kylo seems like a good way to go.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 05:46:58 AM by sptuck » Logged
sptuck
Guest
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2010, 05:42:12 AM »

To search local files on Kylo, enter file:///c:/(whatever folder) and go. You can also browse your hard drive, look at pictures, play music, watch locally stored videos, read documents. I like the fact that this HTPC program lets you do just about anything. Now, if I can only find a way to make it access PlayOn, that would be cool.
Logged
uxomatt
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2010, 01:56:31 PM »

I just watched The Apprentice on my ROKU via Playon with no trouble.
Well. I researched it. Seems that Roku is completely and utterly fixated with blocking PlayOn at all costs. This is a no go and never will be. Forget it folks. Find a different device. Many, many better ones out there than Roku. Don't waste your time with it. Time to move on...
Logged
MattN
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2010, 02:14:46 PM »

I just watched The Apprentice on my ROKU via Playon with no trouble.
Well. I researched it. Seems that Roku is completely and utterly fixated with blocking PlayOn at all costs. This is a no go and never will be. Forget it folks. Find a different device. Many, many better ones out there than Roku. Don't waste your time with it. Time to move on...

I'm able to use it on my Roku, but I'm getting a message when trying to stream my media that I need a premium subscription to use "this" device (referring I assume to the Roku player).

Anyone else experiencing this, or have a workaround?  With all of the problems, I'm not sure I want to subscribe to PlayOn at this time, but the my mead streaming doesn't require a PlayOn subscription as far as I've been able to find on their website.

Could just be the Roku channel, or it could be something PlayOn did after the catastrophy that was the PlayOn private channel.
Logged
Bobzarry
Jr. Member
**

Times Thanked: 4
Posts: 76



« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2010, 08:13:26 PM »

Its been working fine for me Grin
Logged


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login

[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login


FAT+ * EVA2000 * Wired connection
famine
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Times Thanked: 50
Posts: 939

xxxdirtyxxx5996
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2010, 06:01:49 PM »

Roku was fixed with the latest release of PlayOn. There shouldn't be any more issues with the Roku box with 3.0.31.1337.
Logged


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
cyncyn01@hotmail.com
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #26 on: November 26, 2010, 06:27:51 PM »

I have alot of issues with the playon channel on my roku. I have followed all the instructions I have been given, and still have problems with everything I try to watch.
Logged
4toScore
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #27 on: January 25, 2011, 01:29:30 PM »


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://www.roku-channels.com/


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://playon.tv/


I added a bunch of channels with play on, but this is my favorite.  Sometimes empty folders are a problem, but you will find shows here that aren't anywhere else.  Latest American Idol

The trick to adding .lau files.  On the general screen for playon, on the computer, press stop.  Then put the .lau file into the scripts file.


[Link Removed] You are not allowed to view links. Please login or register
Register or Login
http://www.tv-links.eu/
Logged
kimr8598
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 1


Email
« Reply #28 on: January 26, 2011, 06:08:29 PM »

Anybody out there working on putting Playon on the Roku box yet?  How close it this to being a reality?

I have it installed tonight, presently checking it out! Shocked)
Logged
ramprod
Newbie
*

Times Thanked: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2011, 09:03:36 AM »

I had trouble getting PLAYON working on my ROKU box also - after there was some hissy fit PLAYON and ROKU went thru with licensing rights or what not - I was told by playon you can still load the channel on your ROKU box and it did work for me - so essentially you go on to add channels on roku and use the below code- hope this helps

this was the advice from PLAYON support 3 months ago after roku removed playon as a selection channel

The channel is still available for download.  You can use the code "MYPLAYON".
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to: